MIND WANDERING

Image result for mind wandering images

 

Sometimes my thoughts completely drift away from everything happening around me. Sometimes it takes me far away to someplace totally different from what I was doing or someplace within. But in all, I long for the calmness and peace of mind. This semester has really been a very busy one and I don’t really know how I have been able to handle the whole pressure without going crazy. When my thoughts drift away, I find solace in my thoughts and I try to feel more at home with myself.

Being able to observe my thoughts came with practice, while I was following the skills 2 course modules. While I developed some kind of inner peace, I seemed to develop an observer self that was able to watch thoughts and feelings as they arose. Today while I was listening to a playlist of thoughts of peace, love and smile by Mother Teresa, my mind wandered into some thoughts of untiring and selfless life of service.

I asked myself if I have a forgiving spirit and my answer is yes. I have been put in several situations where my loyalty was tested and I have been able to let go and forgive. Peace begins with a smile and I try my best whenever anyone comes to me to leave them better and happier. When working in the care home, I ensure I go about my duties selflessly and untiring… treating them with constant love and kindness without forgetting to handle them in the same way I would handle my parents. I have had so many experiences where I had to show love and smile but in all I try to live life beautifully without letting the challenges of life get in the way. Putting myself in the shoes of others is one of the ways I relieve people’s experiences and feel their emotions. In general, I have learnt to take life gradually and take a huge leap forward when it is necessary for me to.

I am back to the reality of my enormous amount of course work but this few moments of mind wandering have indeed taught me that not all minds that wander is lost!

Leave a comment